Mississauga native PND is having a party next door in Toronto
September 27, 2017 – 2:16 pm | No Comment

PartyNextDoor has been blowing up social media recently with cryptic tweets  which have become the hallmark for OVO marketing their stable of artists of which PND is a proud member of. Now just days before …

Read the full story »

crash course in CanCon rock, pop, electronic, metal, house, hip-hop, folk and alternative.

Lyricist Lounge

Reviews and interviews with some of Canada’s and the world’s top lyricists.

Living Legends

Simply put, interviews with musicians worthy of the moniker living legends.

21 Questions

Q&A sessions with some of Canada’s and the world’s most prominent entrepeneurs old and new.


Highlighting Colourful and Interesting Canadian/International Lifestyles, Arts, Culture and Entertainment.

Home » Arts and Life, The Scene

Polaris Prize 2015

Submitted by on September 10, 2015 – 3:56 pmNo Comment

POLARIS10 PRINT FILE FINALPolaris Music Prize is a not for profit organization that annually honours, celebrates and rewards creativity and diversity in Canadian recorded music. Polaris Music Prize recognizes and then markets the albums with the highest artistic integrity without bias in terms of genre, affiliation or album sales, it relies only on the judgement of selected music critics. Nine years in Polaris Music Prize has come along way since its humble beginnings in 2006.

The Shortlist for the 2015 Polaris Music Prize was unveiled on July 16th in Toronto. The ten Canadian albums who made the shortlist are:

Alvvays – Alvvays

BadBadNotGood with GhostfaceKillah – Sour Soul

Braids – Deep in the Iris

Caribou – Our Love

Jennifer Castle – Pink City

Drake – If You’re Reading This It’s Too Late

Tobias Jesso Jr – Goon

New Pornographers – Brill Bruisers

Buffy St Marie – Power In The Blood

Viet Cong – Viet Cong

Some of the current short lister’s have been here before. Caribou won the Polaris Music Prize in 2008 with Andorra. Braids, Drake and New Pornographers have been nominated before. While Viet Cong Alvvays, and Tobias Jesso Jr are making their debut to the list.

The winner of this years Polaris Music Prize will recieve 50,000 dollars, to help them continue their journey in the world of music.

This year’s gala celebration will be a unique one, shortlist performing artists will collaborate as well as be joined on stage by the Toronto Symphony Orchestra to highlight and showcase the amazing diversity that is this years short list.

This year’s shortlist grand jury is Alicia Atout (Amusicblogyea), Sarah Greene(Exclaim), Ty Harper (Cityonmyback), Donna Hopper(Village media), Ken Kelley (Music nerd chronicles), Sarah Kitteringham (Beatroute), Barnaby Marshall(New canadian music), Dave Morris(freelance) Alan Neal(CBC All In A Day) Renato Pagnani(Edmonton Journal) Jen Zoratti(Winnepeg Free Press)

The winner will be decided upon by a grand jury at the Polaris Music Prize gala which will be held on Sept 21 at the Carlu in Toronto. The Gala will be hosted by Fred Penner and broadcast live via the web on Aux.tv.

Leave a comment!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Follow Martyr